Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
One1

Blackheads not going away

Hello I used to not really care about my blackheads at all but recently they have become annoying because they arent really showing any signs of going away like i was told. I have been using Tazoradc for 4 months now and just finished up my tetracycline because my derm told me to stop. My overall acne has really lessened but i still get very persistant acne aswell. I thought a retinoid as strong as taz would make the blackheads go away but 4 months in i still got LOTS on my nose, lower forehead, and not so much on my cheeks. Every now and then i notice a blackhead on my nose looking like it wants to come out and i just squeeze it out but then i get a red spot on my nose. Anyone have a similar problem or have sucess and getting rid of their blackheads?

Okay, that sounds okay.

Who knows what sort of effects it will have had on your skin another 4 months from now.

Have you heard of the baby brush method before? Maybe try that. It's basically gentle exfoliation through a gentle brush. Ie. helping your skin exfoliate the upper layer of your skin more easily.

Also in your situation, I would be tempted to combine it (beginning very slowly to allow skin to get accustomed) with mandelic acid 10% (or another acid). I don't really know if that's usually tolerable together with taz so do so at own risk! It might be too much for your skin. Maybe someone else can tell you from experience.

If the acid actually helps but the combination of taz+acid is too much, you could also try combining it with green cream instead, which is a milder, over the counter retinol. Do so at own risk but I've heard of others doing it.