Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
fifijones

severe acne scarring (red marks)

My 15 year old daugher has SEVERE acne and scarring from acne. The acne has gotten better since she started birth control pills a couple of months ago, but we do not know what to do about scarring. We are sceptical about maybe products, and we are hoping to find some word-of-mouth info. For the acne, she done three kinds of antibiotics, three different dermatogists, proactive, altered her diet, vitamins and herbs. Any suggestions for the scarring? What works???

Thanks !!!!

What makes it severe? Can you tell us about the types of scarring she's got? Thankfully, you're doing something about it while she's young, and while the scars are still (relatively) fresh.

I have never done a message board before, so I hope you can bare with me.

To Sgt pepper - I have looked around some, but I thought I would try to turn directly to other people who have gone through the problem - also when I do searches on the web, companies are most often trying to SELL products, so everybody tells me that THEIR product works. I have learned about papaya and vinegar from reading this messageboard, so I will keep educating myself and also hope that someone might give us some pointers.

And to GoldRex- It is severe in the sense that her is entirely face is covered with scar "spots". The are flat spots and one can hardly see the "normal" skin because the spots are so intense. She covers them up with make-up every day before going to school and takes it off when she comes home.

Yeah I thought this could`nt be real she` only 15 for chris` sakes

The `scars ` you talk about are red marks left by zits, they are not scars.

So many people confuse the two and talk about them as if they are the same problem.

Real scars are indented into the skin like grooves, picks or bites. Red marks will fade with time or accelarated healing by peels ,retin-a, bleaches etc.