Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Jessie Rose

Mystery Redness around mouth

Hi! I've been viewing posts on this board for several months hoping someone would post about an issue similiar to mine.

I'm a 23yo female and I have been suffering from a persistant redness around the corners of my mouth. It almost looks like paranthesis on the out side of my mouth. It started about 7 months ago. I've researched everything possible trying to figure out what it may be. The skin is constantly pinkish, and gets worse after a shower or when I've been out in the cold. The area is not itcy and not particularly any drier than the rest of my skin. Sometimes its a little more sensitive than the rest of my face (if I exfoliate) and on occasion the area feels "tight". I am currently without health insurance (only part-time in college so I got booted from my parents HS), so it really isn't as easy as going to see a derm. I've tried moisterizing, Aveeno calming lotion, elidel cream and even some low potency steroid cream (starts with a D). Nothing seems to make it any better. I am so extremely frustrated because around this time last year I had nice skin. I have occasional mild break outs but nothing severe. None of these breakouts have been within the area that is red.

Can anyone please give me some insight on what this may be? Exzema and rosacea do not run in my family AT ALL. The redness is starting to wear on my self-esteem.

Thank you all in advance!

p.s. as soon as I get a chance I will post some pictures...