Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hey people! I wanted to share my story with you and maybe help somebody who is going through this too.

I'm a 23 year old girl and I've been battling moderate acne for the last 2 years. I never had acne during my teen years.

I used (so good to finally be able to put it on the past tense:)) to get those big red painful pimples on my cheeks specially but also on my chin and forehead.

I went to 3 different dermatologists and for a year i used oral antibiotics and isotrexin to apply every night on my skin. I also started taking Diane-35 because my skin was pretty oily. It got slightly better for a couple of months but I had still breaks every other day although they werent as bad as before I still didnt feel happy about my acne. My cheeks were still full of redish big painful pimples.

I was miserable because every new pimple I got would take many weeks to disappear and it would always scar my face. I have a very pale face which only made it worse for me. My best friend for the last year has been make up and foundation.

Anyway, I wanted a permanent solution. I thought it was so unfair that all of my friends had perfect skin and not me. Why me? So I got online and started doing research. The secret is to find out what is causing it right? I was amazed by the amount of things that can cause acne. I think I tested most of them.

I stopped ingesting dairy, started meditating to reduce stress, stopped eating meat (they could be full of the growth hormone, related to acne too), exercised more, drank much more water. I tried every clearasil lotion and cream, salicilic acid, B vitamines, drank lots of red and green tea (tried to apply them on my face too). I kept my hands away from my face, I used those 50 dollars pharmacy lotions. Still with no results.