Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
brentkid

Life is a song - My Own Accutane Log

Life is a song, but you're scared to sing along...

So I've finally taken the step forward in beginning a regimen on Accutane. I guess I'll provide a little background about myself beforehand...

I'm 18 years old and have been suffering from pretty mild to moderate acne since I was about 15. I had clear skin up until I became a Sophomore in high school. There were flare ups occasionally while I was a freshman but looking back, it was nothing compared to what I have experienced in the past year or so. So anyway, I'd say around the beginning of winter when I was a Sophomore, I began to get breakouts. It was pretty subtle. However, as time went on it became more sever, leaving unsightly red marks. I would go to the derm, take a prescription medication with some topicals and it would be under control again. The summer would come and I'd have perfect skin again.

Junior year was more of the same - breaking out in the winter and relying on the sun to rid me of my acne. Senior year actually turned out alright. I ran track all through high school so spring track always seemed to help me clear up. However, I noticed that by the end of May and beginning of June, my acne was coming back and leaving red marks once again. I remember on graduation having two ugly looking zits that stuck out so horribly. Little did I know how I would have wished for that again.

The summer before college offered the same relief as every other had. Yet something strikingly odd was occurring. It normally took me until about November to start consistently breaking out but it was only September and it was returning. I'll admit the stress of saying goodbye to all my friends along with a girlfriend for almost three years was hard but that is what college entails. My acne progressed and I grew even more unhappy. That was until one event in my life flipped everything upside down.