Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Willow68

Anyone on Spiro and Retin A over 30?

I'm almost 40 and am taking spiro 100mg and just started incoporating tretinoin in my skincare. Anyone else use both these products? My skin is driving me nuts and I can't believe I'm dealing with this at my age, it really sucks!

I"m just about 28 on 200 mg Spiro and using tretinoin cream. The Spiro truly is a miracle. It takes awhile to kick in, but IMO, it's well worth it. The tretinoin cream is also great because it can improve wrinkles and skin elasticity as well as help with acne. Hang in there!

Hi. I am 33 and just finishing my 1st month on spiro, and I have been using Ziana (which is a retin a, I believe) for about 6 months. I didn't start experiencing really bad break outs until about 5 years ago, after going of BCPs. I have seen improvements so far- less cysts, general clearing. I am happy b/c I read that it takes a while for the spiro to completely kick in, so I am hoping for continued improvement.

It is a dirty trick to be fighting acne at this age, huh? Good luck! I hope it works well for you.

Hi, thanks for the replys. I've actually been on spiro for about a year. It cleared me up very quickly after taking it. I was also on orthotryclen bcp and stopped that about 2 months ago and since then, even with spiro I've been getting breakouts again. I may up my dosage of spiro. Also it is very hard to get over the side effects of tretinoin, you read about the horrendous initial breakouts, which scares me to death because I always scar, and have plenty of scars already. :(