Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Deadbeat007

What products kill bacteria like antibiotics?

I've been using Clindamycin 1% lotion for 3 1/2 months, and it's gotten rid of my inflamed acne 100%. Are there any other products out there that I can use long-term (that I won't grow immune to, like I would using antibiotics) that work just as well? I don't need anything heavy duty, as my skin is sensitive.

Is BP the only other product that's effective in killing the bacteria that causes inflamed acne? I'm afraid something like that is too strong for my skin. =/

Azeilic acid like in Fenasia stops bacteria from reproducing and you don't have to worry about them becoming immune.

I tried Finacea last month, but it was waaay too harsh for my skin. =/ I ended up getting lots of whiteheads on my forehead and really red, irritated skin... I'm not sure why I had that reaction. Either my skin is super sensitive (which I'm pretty positive it is), or there was something in Finacea that I was maybe allergic to.

Some people just can't use it... I have super sensitive skin, but mine seems to like Finacia (if I use it thinnly) and Retin-A. :lol: My skin like prescriptions, it seems to HATE over the counter stuff.

Mandelic acid is an AHA that has antibacterial properties. It will help exfoliate and keep your pores from getting clogged, and will also kill bacteria that causes inflamed acne.

Mandelic acid is an AHA that has antibacterial properties. It will help exfoliate and keep your pores from getting clogged, and will also kill bacteria that causes inflamed acne.