Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
andrea

DOES RETIN A WORK??

Hi! Just wanted to see how successful retin a was for people out there. I'm debating whether or not to start because I know it makes my face worse before it gets better. I'm trying to determine if it's worth it. So pleaseeeeeee help!

Thanks!

Andrea

I used retin a, it dried out my skin soooooo bad that I felt like it was unnatural. The whole point to retin a is to dry out your skin so you don't get pimples. It got rid of my acne but my oil rating got worse. You also get bad sunburns if you wear it during the day. But it does help for mild to moderate acne

i've been using retin-a for nearly 2 months now, at first, i had no effects whatsoever(maybe coz i used moisturiser with it!), then slowly,it started to flake around the spots and scars. i stopped using moisturiser with it at night, just in the morning, than my face got xtra xtra dry, even where i hadn't been using it! but now i've noticed that the older red and brown marks r fading slowly, so i hope it keeps on working.

btw, i used 0.025% ,so maybe thats why i didn't really have many side-effects--but it depends on ur skin. :X

I tried it (strongest 0.1%), used it for 4 months and it did nothing. Il tell you what it does do though. If you have tiny little indents(scars) it makes them go away. After I'm done with my course of accutane I might go back on it just for the scarring, but my derm said collagen was a good route also.

nk

I'm also on 0.025 % morning and evening, and I'm using moisturiser with it as the first week I didnt it literally burnt my skin, would you say that decreasing the amount of moisturiser has helped make the retin-a more effective?