Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
jamesiepoo

Jamesie's Accutane Log

I'm a 20 year old male with mild-moderate acne. Usually acne occurs on my skin around my cheeks and jawline. I also have very seasonal acne where my skin gets redder and more inflamed during the winter.

My acne is has always been mild-moderate, and has seemingly gotten worse in the past month or so. I don't think my skin is nearly that horrible for accutane, but I think it was assigned to me because of its persistency. I'm glad that I am getting accutane because if anything has held me back and made me selfconscious in the past, it would be my acne.

So today I visited the derm for another check-up on my skin. I've been currently using Tazorac during the nights, with two doses of 100 mg of minocycline a day (one in the morning and one at night). I've been using mino for about 5 months and the tazorac for about a month. To tell you the truth I was not looking for an accutane handout and thought she would tell me to trek on with the tazorac, but she told me that I should think about accutane. I also think she made this decision because the effects of the mino are slowly wearing off. So tomorrow I am set to go get my blood work done. I'm not quite sure when I'm starting after I finish my bloodwork, but hopefully within this week.

Questions:

Also, does anyone know how long it takes for males to be setup for accutane treatment? I know females have to go through a big month or so before they even start taking medication, but how about for males?

If you could recommend any products that I should use while being on accutane that would be great, too. Recommendations on cleansers, chapsticks, moisturizers, and anything would be great. Thanks!

I went in for my bloodwork yesterday (Tuesday, December 4th). I am currently waiting for the results and hopefully will be put on accutane asap.