Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
~Aubrey~

I can't believe what I read about Benzoyl Peroxide

Has anyone ever read this? I read this from the skintactix website about the effects of benzoyl peroxide. I read it and I got scared me because I have been using benzoyl peroxide for 5 years now, and I'm still using it. They have another way to treat moderate to severe acne(I have this) and mild acne. It says that a dermatologist and a biochemist that are experts on skin made this stuff. I'm thinking about it. I don't think I'll be able to use benzoyl peroxide anymore after I read this. Has anyone else out their already tried skintactix and can tell me if it worked for them or not?

From: http://www.skintactix.com/benzoyl_peroxide_skin_damage.htm

Benzoyl Peroxide Skin Damage

Benzoyl Peroxide Cautions: Benzoyl peroxide (BP) generates free radicals in the skin. Its effect is similar to unprotected sun exposure. The redness of the skin (erythema), caused by sun exposure and BP, are both the result of free radicals (oxidative stress) upon the skin. Repeated sun exposure or BP use generates free radicals that damage the skin's structure and cellular DNA, resulting in premature aging of the skin. The extent of the damage and aging from BP is determined by the concentration of BP, the frequency of application and the duration of its use.

Because BP generates free radicals it interferes with and slows the healing process. The red and brown marks that are a part of the acne healing process may last weeks longer when BP is a regular part of the daily regimen.