Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
fedup1983

accutane has not helped at all - i need to vent

hi, i'm new to this and this is my story: i've been battling with moderate acne since i was 16 and i've even done one course of accutane when i was about that age..since then we discovered that i had a small hormonal imbalance which was causing the acne. i went on birth control, which worked great and then when the acne returned, a derm i went to suggested i go back on accuate. so i've been taking 20 mg for almost four months now and after a REALLY REALLY bad breakout which made my acne worse than it's ever been before, it's slowly clearing up. but it's REALLY slow..i currently have two massive cysts on my face. and all that breakout has left bad scars on my face.

IN ADDITION, i'm so massively depressed that i can't concentrate on anything, i can't sleep and just feel horrid. this doesn't feel like a wonder drug, it feels like crap. i fight with people all day for no reason, am convinced that i'm hideous, don';t feel like going out during the day and don't get happy even when i'm doing really well at work.

now i'm at another derm and she's suggesting tht once i finish the four month course in another two weeks, that i should go on birth control bnecause that seems to work better.

i suppose there's no point to this, but i just needed someone who would understand. also, how long before i can try laser to remove the scars? also, does fraxel laser work?

If accutane is causing you this depression you should probably stop.

I understand your pain, accutane is giving me crazy mood swings. I'll feel great, look in the mirror and think "Hey it's working!" then other times I'll feel like shit, look in the mirror and want to pull my fking face off.

As much as it sucks, be honest with yourself about what's best for you in the long run.

seems like a few pple here are experiencing what i am too..

day 35 of 20mg/day here..