Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Cubsin2100

Adult Males and Acne...

Hey guys...

This is my first time venturing into the adult acne thread... and I must say, the people here seem much more civil, which is a plus.

As Ill be turning 20 very shortly, I have slowly come to realize that I may be dealing with acne for the long haul. I was just taken off accutane due to some eye concerns, it was my second course. I had one course about 2 years ago... and it was alright, but things are back to really bad. I was thinking about starting up again, but the more I look into it, the more I realize that acne may have impacted the depression/ badness I feel today.

So I tried searching around, but I thought this may be easier...

Who here is a male, and how old is everyone? I guess I just wanted to try and see how some of the adult males were handling acne, whether it was differnt from the stuff they suffered from as teens, if it responds differently, etc. I mean, by this time, almost 20, I think my hormones should be settled down, wouldn't you think? Are we just relegated to spending a life of super high hormone causing acne, while at the same time not being able to use our super high hormones in a productive manner (ie, find a significant other?) I think I will endever back into the holistic forums...

I realize that adult acne in males/female work a bit different in terms of hormones, so I was trying to get a male idea. Everyone keeps telling me... "It will go away, don't worry... how many adults do you see with acne? How many 40 year olds do you see with zits?" I try and tell them many adults suffer from it, but they don't believe.

My older brother is now 24, and still suffers from acne, and his was always about half as bad as mine... so I am starting to get very disheartened, especially as accutane is a no go for me. Well I know this thread isn't going to make me feel any better, but oh well...

hey bro.