Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
kei_fujo

new to the retin!

well, i was at the dr with my daughter today and i just decided i couldn't take it anymore and since i was there i would ask him about my skin. so he gave me retin-a micro and told me to just use a basic cleanser and basic moisturizer. any tips would be appreciated. this is my first try with an rx.

Hi,

I'm a medical esthetician working for a Dermatologist. I saw your post and had to respond. Some questions...is there something specific going on with your skin? Acne, aging, discoloration? Why did he prescribed Retin-A. Is it .04% or .1% Here are some basic instructions:

Retin-A is only used at night. The amount to apply is a little more than pea size. Dot it on your face (the whole face, no spot treating and avoid your eyes!) and rub in. A gentle cleanser should be used am and pm. Suncreen is CRITICAL. Your skin will be more sensitive to the sun and can burn easier. I can give you some great sunscreen recommendations if you'd like (they won't be OTC though, I hate those, not enough UVA protection and they are mostly chemical sunscreens...you want micronized zinc oxide). Do not wax your face while on Retin-A. Your skin will "lift" or tear off. You need to be off at least 2 weeks before waxing and inform your esthetician you've been using Retin-A (for this or any other service you're doing). Do not wash your face with a washcloth, hands only.

No other forms of exfoliation while on Retin-A. A moisturizer can be used in the am and pm, but it should have no active ingredients (AHA's, retinol). I can also make some great recommendations if you'd like. So many Dr.s write scrips for RA with no explicit home care instructions. Also, expect to peel/flake and get red as your skin adapts. This could last for a few weeks or longer. Also, if you're acne prone, your acne may get worse before it gets better. If you have any questions I'd be glad to help.