Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
xmiss_behavex

Scar Treatments.....

Hey all,

I'm new to scarring as i've never had it before, but after the severe cystic outbreak i had about 3 months ago i am left with a lot of scarring and red marks.

Now the red marks can be covered with make up and i am working on fading them. But the scarring obviously isn't just gonna go away.

So anyway....my question.......I have some Glycolic Acid peels (30% and 50%) which i bought a while ago. I wanna use them and just wanna know whether anyone has experienced less defined scarring when using peels? Will they help with the scarring at all?

Thanks all in advance :)

Guest delta force operators

post a pic of ur scas, i think u may have alot of redmarks where retiniods help,

id only do the glycolic acid when the red marks are healed up quite a bit

I had slightly improved scarring with the TCA peel I did. I noticed improvement, over time, with daily and every other day use of a 10% glycolic acid product. The edges of boxcars became less jagged over time.

Retin A or other topical retinoids will also help improve indented scarring and red marks. Retinoids seem to also improve collagen growth and reformation.

A glycolic peel of 30% would be a good choice once you're healed up more and do not have active acne. A peel can sometimes cause a flare. If you're on Accutane, do not do a peel until you've been off Accutane for at least six months.

Personally, I think peels are absolutely useless for acne-scarring. Peels are good for giving the skin a healthy glow but for scarring, rubbish.