Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
greenskies

Aqua Glycolic vs. Alpha Hydrox

I've been using Alpha Hydrox 10% AHA Lotion for a couple months now and have seen quite a bit of improvement in my acne and red marks. But I read so much about Aqua Glycolic cleanser and it makes me curious... Has anyone used both? How do they compare? Thanks a lot!

I have used Alpha Hydrox and I have to say it actually works, i got aqua glycolic like a week ago but im not seeing anything yet. when i was on alpha hydrox, i saw like results in within a week

i have only used AG

i dont know if its actually doing much with the red marks, but damn its good stuff. Ive hardly had any spots since ive used it thus allowing the red marks to heal. there has been the odd little pimple but no whoppers like ive had before :)

I myself use Avon's Advanced Retexturizing Peel. It's a 10% glycolic acid product. Glycolic acid is magnificent. It's great for comedonal acne and in the long run may improve cystic acne (but that's only conjecture!)

Some people will begin to see results with glycolic acid within one week. Others will see results after more time. One should see some difference after a month.

Results mean: smoother skin, slight improvement with shallow scarring, slight improvement with hyperpigmentation from acne, improvement in melasma, and decreased comedonal acne. With continued use of glycolic acid since April, I have seen difference in even the deepest and largest boxcars. Their sides are less jagged. I saw this change even before I did a TCA peel and a TCA CROSS.

Please remember that sunscreen is absolutely vital when using any glycolic acid product.