Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
jukebox

First time on Accutane

First time on tane, this is my day 1, I'm taking Acnetrex, a generic isotretinoin brand. My dermatologist advised me to create a log of my skin condition and side effects while on therapy, and since I'm a computer programmer, I'm gonna do it here and I'll just give the link to her, more convenient(but the real reason is so that it wouldn't be obvious that i'm doing personal logs during the time of work. hehehe...). About me:

Sex: Male

Height and Weight: 5'8", 133 lbs.

My Brief Acne History: I'm one of those guys that after they've wash their face, 15 mins later, you can see oil coming out of your pores again, enough to fry an egg. But luckily, only few cystic acnes not more than 4 at a time (but when I have cyst, they're really big and swollen, and painful), but I have too much whiteheads. Got my first breakout when I was 14. Used over the counter drugs, benzoyl peroxide and the like. They work at first, but my skin kinda got immuned to them (or my oil glands just got more active). Went to a derma, prescribed me topical antibiotics, clindamycin, erythromycin, they also worked at first, but as time goes by I noticed that they just don't work anymore. And, oh, not to mention those agonizing pain during pricking sessions to my face, my dermatologist use a pricking tool to remove whiteheads and injections to my swollen pimples, ouch, torture, really tear jerking. And besides I'm already 23, beyond my teenage years, my skin must not have a reason to produce that much oil and zits anymore, so I figured out that maybe my skin isn't normal and I need a permanent solution to this, or at least a cure that has long term remission. I've searched the web until I found accutane, suggested it to my dermatologist, and she said OK, I'm a good candidate for the therapy.

Accutane prescription: