Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
dragon10

Who's here become immune to any antibiotics?

My derm told me that becomming immune rarely happens...

I've been using doxycycline for 11 months now.

The issue isn't that people become immune to antibiotics, it's that bacteria become antibiotic-resistant.

As for "rarely happens"... well, your doc is the MD, not me, but I think they're way off on that. In my own experience as a medical research assistant, I saw plenty of reports of drug-resistant nasties. And the latest news isn't good either. From Scientific American:

SCIENCE NEWS

June 26, 2007

U.S. hospitals rife with superbug bacteria: survey

By Maggie Fox, Health and Science Editor

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - A drug-resistant type of "superbug" bacteria called MRSA is more than eight times as common as believed in U.S. hospitals, putting patients at risk and posing a big hygiene problem, experts said on Tuesday.

They found that nearly 5 percent of patients -- 46 out of every 1,000 -- were infected or colonized with methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus or MRSA for short.

The one-day "snapshot" look at infection suggests that 1.2 million U.S. hospital patients may be infected each year, the survey by the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology or APIC found.

Exactly what Lexica said. You don't become immune to the antibiotic, the bacteria becomes resistant to the antibiotic.

Exactly what Lexica said. You don't become immune to the antibiotic, the bacteria becomes resistant to the antibiotic.

So is that common?

So is that common?