Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
habuki

My acne story.. plus helpful advice

My story begins when I was a senior in high school. The day of the prom I got my first zit. My mom helped me cover it up with her make-up and it didn’t really bother me. I started to get acne when I was a sophomore in college (I was a late bloomer) and it was always mild, but bothersome. The first topical drugs I tried were clindamyacin gel and retin-a micro. The clindamyacin simply didn’t work and the retin-a made me extremely red and my face burned whenever it met with moisture. I remember trying tetracycline but I was allergic to it and I broke out in hives.

I went through college mostly without acne drugs, and it didn’t bother me too much, but my acne got worse once I graduated from college. I tried BP and that was met with some success, and then I moved on to a few other topicals. I can’t remember their names but they were mild formulas. I tried doxycline and that was very successful, but the zits came back after I stopped taking them. Plus the pills gave me very painful stomach pains occasionally. Right now (two years after college) I’m on Differin gel, and that worked alright for a couple months but the past month I’m experiencing break outs. I have mild to moderate non-scarring acne around my mouth and nose. Red spots remain on my face for a few weeks. I rarely get zits on my forehead and cheek. I also rarely get cysts. I hate shaving because it makes the red spots appeal prominently.

I have an appointment with the derm in a couple weeks but I don’t think there is much she can do except accutane, which I’m reluctant to try. Last time I went she said that there isn’t many options left for me but accutane. I think I will try BP in the morning and differin at night.