Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I know I post in this forum too much - I'm just a total newbie at the whole diet thing and have lots of questions.

I've heard recomendations for people with hormonal acne to go on certain diets. Do any of you know which diets are supposed to be best for controling hormones? Also, I think I saw someone say to stay away from gluten/grains and dairy for hormones. Is that still the case even if you aren't allergic to gluten? I had a food allergy blood test done a few years ago and had no reactions at all listed in the Grains category - including gluten. But if I had hormonal related acne, would avoiding still provide any benefit?

Thanks.

If you have insulin resistance, which many people do and probably most with acne, changing your diet to reduce insulin secretion will majorly help. Many other hormonal problems are caused by insulin resistance. If you want to improve all of your body's hormone regulation you should go on a diet that avoids grains and foods with lots of sugar without fiber. For example, the diet that I am doing is the Paleo Diet, it's main point is to improve insulin resistance, but also to stop eating all of the things that humans are not supposed to eat.

I know I post in this forum too much - I'm just a total newbie at the whole diet thing and have lots of questions.

I've heard recomendations for people with hormonal acne to go on certain diets. Do any of you know which diets are supposed to be best for controling hormones? Also, I think I saw someone say to stay away from gluten/grains and dairy for hormones. Is that still the case even if you aren't allergic to gluten? I had a food allergy blood test done a few years ago and had no reactions at all listed in the Grains category - including gluten. But if I had hormonal related acne, would avoiding still provide any benefit?

Thanks.