Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Jono_aus

Benzoyl Peroxide Cytotoxic? What do people make of this?

Hey everyone, Ive been using Dans regime for a few months now, and seen excellent results.

However, today while surfing the net, I came across this medline article.

And it seems like Benzoyl peroxide might be a lot more toxic and damaging to our skint than we thought. Im not sure if its going to motivate me to stop using the regime however, but maybe some other people could help shed some light on the full meaning of this article.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.f...st_uids=8571390

Cheers,

Jono.

all i know is that when i use BP for morning AND night

it made my face kinda puffy swullen.. not red swollen but kinda swelled up

but when i stopped it its back to normal

i took a pic of my face during the regime period. and then i compared it with using BP only at night, my face got alot skinnier when i don't use it.

scar your face was swollen because of irritation. Was it red too? As far as i've read, BP is 100% safe and won't cause any problems if used correctly, even in when you're 100 years old =o

Guest fatman_uk

I'm no doctor, but the bit at the end... doesn't that just mean using Vitamin E will make you more resistant to BP?

Vitamin E heals your skin/body, so maybe that's why ppl usin BP complain of redmarks, a sign that the skin isn't healing as fast as usual?

-Gaz

no i'm not allergic to BP, my face isn't red when i use it

it just swells up

so i only use it at night

Uh, I'd say, uh, that, uh, I have no clue what that article is about.

Wow, I guess there are people out there who understand that, but it's certainly not me.

Sometimes they have "conclusions" on articles like that where they explain what they're saying. This one just read like mumbo jumbo to me. Sorry.

-Dan