Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
perplexed'n'vexed

I'm a noob here... need some advice

Hi everyone,

I'm a 37 year caucasian male (English). Lived in the UK until early 2006 when I moved to Thailand. I spent a year living on a tropical island and got bored. I now live in Bangkok.

I'll admit I'm vein and want to look my best at all times. I find acne very aesthetically displeasing, not only on myself but also on others. I'm repulsed by it when I see it on other people and I consider my condition to be the single biggest problem in my life. I cannot be happy without feeling personally confident. By my nature I'm an extremely outgoing extrovert person and I consider myself to be quite good looking... if it wasn't for the spots ;-), but over the years my personality has suffered greatly due to my condition. Throughout my life none of my various friends have suffered from acne, it's always only been me, so often I'm left thinking 'why me?', 'why can't my complexion be like theirs?'. It's definitely had a detrimental affect on my personal development.

During my late teens/early 20's I suffered from moderate acne on my face, back and around my hairline and ears. I can't say it was severe acne (when I compare it to other peoples conditions I've seen) as I was never scarred by it, but at that period of my life it was enough to destroy my confidence in all social situations - with both male and female company. I suffered from very red, deep under the skin, big, stubborn spots - sometimes cysts etc. Whenever it was appropriate to expose my back in public I was always too embarrassed to do so.

Between the ages of 16 and 21 I visited my GP on several occassions but no medication I was given ever worked. So in 1990 I paid for a private consultation with a dermatologist in Manchester who put me on Accutane. Luckily for me the actual treatment was on the NHS so the financial outlay was minimal - after the initial consultation fee.