Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
joylovepeace

Anyone tried spot treating pits with other types of acids??

joylovepeace,

Every acid has its unique properties and (IMO) you may find another one that works, but why chance it when TCA is proven?

Good Luck!

Anna

Guest Scorpioness

I tried it with salicylic acid (80%). I didn't notice any improvement in the scars.

Unless you have extra sensitive skin, aha's aren't going to penetrate the dermis. TCA DOES penetrate the dermis.

I've been doing peels for many years now and never had improvement with them UNLESS combining them with copper peptides. However, that isa slow process compared to tca cross.

It's pretty safe for people to do on their own as it's relatively simple. All you need is a toothpick. When I did my cross last time, it was no big deal. All I looked like was that I had some freckles. You really couldn't tell I had tiny scabs on my face.

It really is no big deal if you use a toothpick. The biggest hazard would come from you spilling it or something, not on the actual dipping the toothpick into the tca and putting it into your pit.

Heck, if you want, you can always start out with 25% and work your way up. Don't know what kind of improvement you will get, but if you're that squeamish, that's what you can do.

I had the idea of trying liquid tretinoin (Retin-A). It only comes in .05% strength, but because it is a liquid, it's very potent and irritating, so very few people can tolerate it on their skin. So, maybe you could get a prescription for it and try spot treating with a toothpick.

It wouldn't be anything as intense as TCA, but it just might work on a gradual basis...

:-k

You guys have definitely made me feel a LITTLE more brave. It's a terrible thing to go through the days hating your skin so much you want to rip it off but then feeling too afraid to do anything about it. What a roller coaster ride.

Imdue-