Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
LuLu Belle

What I've Learned About Mineral Makeup Foundation

Hi,

I started wearing MMU about a year ago, after reading about it on this board. I love it! I've been battling acne & congested pores for 20 years (I'm female in my early 40s) & am pleased to finally learn how to cover my skin imperfections without causing more problems.

I've spent lots of time and a small fortune experimenting with foundations: brands, brushes, primers, concealers, etc, and share what I've learned with the hope that it will save you some leg work (& $$).

Please note that I'm not affiliated with any of the companies/products listed. I'm just an acne.org member like you!

1) Big brand names aren't necessarily better

I've had really great customer service from many small, online-only companies. These women will answer your questions promptly & are truly client-focused. Compared to store brands, the prices are incredible, they explain their ingredients, and they offer generous samples. It's worth the time to go completely through each website to learn about the products, get application tips, and experiment with the samples. Sign up for their email lists to be notified about sales & specials.

It's hard to know which foundation formulas/color matches work best until you get samples & try them.

Listed in no particular order:

LumiereLumiere has a terrific $3 sample program, & a couple of different foundation formulas to choose from. The concealer, when applied with a taklon brush (I prefer Bare Escentual Max Cover-up, with taklon bristles), is awesome over blemishes, brown spots etc. And only $3.50!!

MAD Minerals this is my personal favorite foundation. Barbi fills her jars to the maximum, so you get a lot for the $$.