Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
benne237

Benny's Accutane Log - 23/m, 40mg of Sotret

Hello all! I wanted to start this Log, like many of you, to document the my 5 month Accutane experience. I started on March 23rd with 40mg of Sotret daily, will continue that for 30 days and then I'm assuming the Derm will bump my dosage up.

Here's a little about my acne history:

As a teenager, had pretty mild/moderate acne which was treated by my GP who gave me Erythomycin cream to put on at night. If I can remember correctly it didnt really do much. As I got older my acne started to just go away, so by the time I went to college I only got the occasional pimple, maybe once a month. I am very grateful that I got to spend four years of college with clear skin, and I took advantage of every minute of it. But once I graduated and I started to work full time for a large Corporation, my acne started to come back. First as mild, but then it dipped into moderate. At the age of 23, I was completely embarrased I was going to work with large red zits on my ace. So I went to a dermatologist, who prescribed my Differin gel and Duac cream, and minocyline. I used that for 9 weeks with no improvement, my skin was just getting incredibly dry, wven though I moisturized twice a day. With no improvement, the derm gacve me Differin cream, with Klaron during the day, and still on the minocycline. After another 6 weeks with no improvement, the derm finally suggested accutane, which I took immediately.

I would really appreciate anyone's support or suggestions who have gone or are going through the experience. I am really hoping this take care of my acne, as of right now it is prety mild with about to small pimples on my forehead and about three on each cheek. At my age, it is just really embarrasing, not only at work, but also socially. I usually like to go out on the weekends and enjoy myself, but the acne has just ruined my social life the last 6 months

Days 1-9