Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I seem to be reading more and more about how work, diet and modern living in general can effect acne. Personally, I feel like I have a varied, balanced diet. Sure I eat chocolate, some fatty and sugary foods and milk but only in moderation and compared with the rest of my diet it probably only makes up 10% of what I eat. The majority of food I eat is fresh fruit and vegetables (at least 10 portions a day), fish, wholemeal bread, nuts etc. I only drink water or tea (without milk) and I don't drink alcohol, coffee or smoke.

Another factor I've been reading about is how your work/job can effect your acne. I'm a chef, on average I do roughly 60 hours a week, the work's hard, stressful at times and the days I do split shifts I get about 5 hours sleep on a night. The atmosphere in the kitchen is hot, greasy, steamy, sweaty, then you walk into the fridge and you get blasted with cold air. Needless to say I get really bad dry skin on my face from the constant changes in temperature but only get acne around my mouth.

Last year I took a 2 week holiday and I didn't get one spot the whole 2 weeks I was away, not one, which led me to believe that it must be working in the kitchen that contributed to my acne. During the 2 weeks I was away I also ate everything that I wouldn't normally eat, (ie. Dairy foods, sugary foods, red meat etc etc) I just thought sod it, i'll eat exactly what I want and I did! I did put on over a stone in those 2 weeks though!

What i'm basically trying to find out is how much people think their work+diet is effecting their acne??

My personal opinion is that my acne is effected more by my job than my diet but it'd good to hear some other peoples opinions on this matter.