Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Marietta1

Thoughts on Vitamin B5? Does it work?

Hello,

I am new to this site...just found it tonight. My background: I am considering Accutane but deathly afraid of some of the side effects. I suffer from cystic acne and have been dealing with it for 5 years. I am a 31 year old professional and am tired of these emotional rollercoasters that I ride when a cyst pops up. My husband doesn't understand what I go through and is not supportive of me taking Accutane. I recently decided I'm going to do it. But, I've been searching message boards on acne/Accutane/other remendies, and I think there are a few more options for me to try first. I have been using Clean&Clear's Salycilic Acid for several months and while that helps some, it doesn't prevent the cysts from coming. The past 2 weeks have been really, really bad - I've had more cysts at once than I have ever had.

I've read on different message boards that Vitamin B5 helps a lot. I am interested in your comments on this and would be appreciative if you could reply. Thank you.

Hi Marietta1.

I took B5 at roughly 8.5g per day for a few months and am now on a dosage of 1-1.5g per day. I'm considering stopping as my skin is almost clear (almost clear of active acne but a helluva lot of red marks) and it is a very expensive regimen to maintain. Another reason is that there isn't enough research done on this and I'm concerned about the long term effects of overdosing on b5. It works wonderfully for a lot of people but there seems to also be an equal amount that it does nothing for. There is no way of guaranteeing which category you'll fall in. If you really want to try it, watch out for these possible side effects which I'm sure you've read about before:

1. Make sure you take it with food or you'll get an upset stomach

2. Prepare for a biggish breakout in the first few weeks (I got it in the very first week I took it and it was bad)