Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Skribby

Seborrhoeic Dermatitis - Need help

I've been researching and I found that I most likely have seborrhoeic dermatitis, which kinda looks like:

sebderm2-s.jpg

I have a similar problem as the photo.

I'm just wondering what you guys recommend for treating it? I really don't want to try hydrocortisone because it thins your skin and stuff.. :(

Anyone been in a similar situation?

I had the same problem and I recommend washing your face once every other day with nizoral shampoo and leave it on for around 3 - 5 minutes then rinse. and if it cleared up your SD, gradually decrease the usage of nizoral shampoo to once a week for maintenance. I have been doing this for almost 2 years and it has been working perfectly! (knock on wood) :)

HTH! :)

Go see a dermatologist to make sure it is SD.

Ketoconazole is the active ingredient in Nizoral and you can get a prescription cream for it from your doctor if it is SD.

Good luck.

Myacneforum.com, I have something similar, do you have rough sand-paper like skin, does it itch bad and hurt if you open your mouth wide like at the dentist? does it burn and sting? I have not been able to figure out what it is. Mine is on my laugh lines and on my chin and sides of my chin.

i used to be in the same situation...try this- http://www.drugstore.com/qxp155929_333181_..._to_be_mild.htm. It's got pyrithione zinc, which is the same stuff found in head and shoulders and other anti-dandruff shampoos, but it's for your face. It's made specifically for those with seborrheic dermatitis. I've been using it once a day for about a week without any moisturizer and my face isn't flaky at all, even in the middle of winter.