Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Unnamed

My accutane blog

I'm going on accutane soon, and I will keep a blog here, cause it will probably make me feel better.

I'd like to start by telling why I'm afraid, and hopefully everything will be ok in 6 months time. Ok, here goes:

I never wanted to do accutane, because I didn't want to suffer from any side effects. Plus, I don't really like the prospect of 6 months without alcohol. I'm not an alcoholic, but I am a student, and I do have a social life. (Although it has diminished recently because of my acne.)

I've had acne since I was 14. It kept getting increasingly worse until the point where I could sleep because of the pain of my cysts. Every time I washed my back or face, several cysts would burst open, or reopen. Somtimes I'd get cysts in diameter of 3 cm, and sometimes they would merge on my face to form a really big zit. Those hurt and bled the most.

I have used tetralysal in the past (milder antibiotic) to combat my acne. Twice with succes, and the third time without succes. I had built up an immunity to the antibiotic.

Last year, I had a 5 month period of no zits on my face. (Just on my back) and they were possibly the best months of my college years. I went out alot, and partied and made friends. This is the point when I met my current girlfriend.

That's right, I met my girlfriend almost a year ago, when I had no zits on my face, and I could cover up all of the red spots perfectly with waterbased makeup. Life was awesome. We were both in love, and couldn't get enough of eachother. She is wonderful and she is all I live for.

So months after I met my girlfriend, I started getting zits. No big deal! Just small zits. Looking back at pictures now, it was NOTHING, NOTHING compared to what my face looks like now.