Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
volatile_vixen

Accutane side-effects and oily skin

I've been on an anti-biotic for more then a year, and I have yet to see a freakin result. My grandmother doesn't want me to go on accutane because she said she's afraid of the side-effects. What's the worse that could happen?

Does it help with oily skin? No matter what moisturizer I use, my skin is always oily, my pores are huge, and I have blackhead things everywhere. I'm so tired of my derm. putting me on the same crap every time I go. I'm not paying her to tell me that there's not much I can do with my "permanently enlarged pores" and blackheads. I've been using Retin-a (the highest amount) for a few months, and my skin has only gotten worse. I'm at my wits end. It's gotten to the point where my self-esteem is preventing me from doing things I used to be excited about. Like anchoring our school's TV show, presenting projects in class. I've had acne since the FIFTH GRADE. And I'm tired of it holding my personality back. I've been on Retin-a, Differin, Claron, Benzoyl Peroxide (for my chest and back) and not much has changed. In fact, I get pimples EVERY DAY! I used to break out once a month, but I always had oily skin, enlarged pores, and black heads, but HARDLY any pimples at all. Now I get them every day.

I'm thinking accutane is my only hope. Unless the side effects are really that terrible...I'm willing to try anything once. Please, any suggestions? Anything at all.

i know what you mean, i had (have kinda) oily skin.

accutane does stop 99% of oil production so your skin will be bone dry lol

thing is, i tried everything for oily skin, then i was given zineryt by my derm, and this seemed to work for my oily skin:)