Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
stateofwonder

Kat's clear skin quest

Hey all,

I'm new to the regimen -- in fact I haven't yet started, I'll be going to pick up supplies at the pharmacy today.

About me and my skin: I'm 22 years old, and have suffered from some form of acne or another since puberty. My face used to be moderate to severe: all through junior high and high school I would get cystic and nodular acne on my chin, nose and forehead especially. Have been going to dermatologists since I was fifteen, used pretty much every topical available, and most of the orals except for Accutane. The topicals were generally pretty useless, and some of the orals were helpful but had side effects (I found out that I'm allergic to sulfa drugs, antibiotics make me severely sick to my stomach and hormonal birth control kills my libido and makes me have craazy mood swings). I might be interested in trying Accutane, but right now I have no health insurance and really can't afford it.

Since my teenage years, my facial acne has improved considerably. I credit time more than any product I used during those years. It's now what I would call relatively mild, but even though it's much much much better than it was before, I still feel self-conscious about it. It's not a big deal really, but having really clear skin would help me feel a bit more confident about myself, especially in a professional setting.

The other thing that has changed since I was younger is that I now have acne allll over my back, from shoulders down to the butt. It's mostly mild to moderate but it is widespread and I get the occassional painful cyst. Where there aren't active pimples, there is definitely a ton of scarring that looks pretty bad. I'm tired of feeling self-conscious in tank tops and bathing suits, not to mention intimate situations.