Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Da Real BucK

Being up all night and acne.

I was reading The Makers Diet and it stresses going to bed before 12. "The more hours that you can sleep before midnight, the better off you will be". "Authorities tell us that one hour of sleep before midnight is equivalent to for hours afterward." Who here can back this up? I noticed my acne got worse after I graduated when I became completely nocturnal due to depression. Even in high school though I barely went to bed before 12 am though. Could going to bed early be the answer or atleast that extra push?

more sleep = better for body supposedly, immune system boosts, organs function better, w/e

i have to somewhat agree with this theory for now, seeing how ive been sleeping so little and breaking out more.

our body doesn't have a clock...if we still get 8-9 hours of sleep we're fine.

I disagree with this statement. Haven't you ever heard anyone refer to your body clock? Assuming you haven't, your body clock is what is known as a circadian rhythm. Read a little about it, you'll be surprised.

havent been getting enough sleep lately. literally had no sleep for 2 days. guess what? my skin has become dull & oily with a few new whiteheads.

Ive noticed when i have been up all night that my skin breaks out, however assumed it was to do with the naughty toxins that were the reason for the no sleep.

However I have at other times not slept and there was no other reason for the break out other than this, could it be something to do with the stress hormones. The strain put on the body so as to keep it awake.

One time last year I had very severe insominia(was actually the beggining of a breakdown, but thats another post) and i didnt sleep for about 5days. I ended up with stress adrenal stress that my kidneys physically ached like id been punched. And yup, I breakout loads.