Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hey,

My name's Scott, and (big surprise) I've been fighting acne for several years. I honestly can't remember when exactly I started breaking out badly but I know it was at least 4 years ago. Anyway, I'm now 19 and still dealing with it. I've been on numerous antibiotics and retinols (I'm on erythromycin in combination with differin and benzoclin right now), which have helped for a bit but not really stopped anything. I'll go through cycles where I clear up somewhat (still red with mild breakouts but not as severe) just to break out badly again. I'm also a second-year engineering student at GA Tech, so the stress never ends. Pretty much, I'm frustrated and sick of dealing with this (again, big surprise).

I've been seeing a derm for about 3-4 years now, and he first mentioned accutane to me during my first visit. Of course, after reading about it, especially all the risks, I decided that I'd try everything else first. Well, it's been 3 years and, still got acne. It's also spread, until this summer I never had it on my back and now it's all over my upper back and shoulders. So, I scheduled an appointment in a few weeks specifically to ask about accutane. :boohoo:

I had a few concerns though, so I was hoping to find some input here.

I am prone to dry skin (genetics and northern winters for 18 years), and I wear contacts, so the dryness factor worries me. I already use Cetaphil as a moisturizer, so I'm mostly looking for advise on eyes. Anyone here wear contacts that has some tips?

I'm going to be studying abroad in France starting May 14, 2007, so I won't be able to stay on the drug during that time. Will ~5 months be long enough to allow for a full treatment, and if not, will I be able to start treatment again in about 2.5 months?

What exactly is "initial breakout" and how long does it usually last?