Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Eloise

RAM may break my wallet

Hello all you RAM users!!

I've been using Retin-A Micro .1% for about a month now and like it. My derm was nice enough to give me some samples before I decided whether RAM was right for me, but he forgot I was a poor teacher that can't splurge on something that is not covered under my insurance. $140 bucks a bottle!! :mad:

So I have some questions for you guys to help me decide if I should give in or not:

--How much does a 45g tube of RAM last if you use a pea size amount once daily? (I think the pharmacist said 45g)

--Does RAM have an expiration date within 2 months of purchase like DUAC?

--Is there something comparable to RAM that is not so expensive?

Thanks for your support!

Eloise

Will your insurance cover a generic version of it? Or at least, the generic should be cheaper (mine is generic and was $10). I've read on here that Green Cream is comparable to RAM, but will let the folks that have used it talk about it.

I got my RA in Sept. and it expires Nov. 2007. That's a pretty good amount of time but I'm sure I'll run out if it before then.

At the rate I'm going, I expect my RA to last approx 5-6 months.

i agree, get the generic tretinoin cream. it may not have the microspheres but it will work just as well and be cheaper. also, one tube should last you at least a few months, so you don't have to buy it that often.

i pay like 30 bucks for each prescription fill --i get 2 tubes (not sure of the size but they're like 2-3 in long). both tubes should last about 20 weeks. (i'm on my second tube and it's been 11 weeks.. a lot left still).