Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Koji

Newbie here - please respond

I know this must've been discussed before but please give me your input. What is the best cleanser for this regimen? Cetaphil or Purpose? or something else you suggest? I am looking for a new cleanser so just want your opinions before I go buy it this weekend. Thank you!

Most people here seem to like Purpose, Cetaphil feels a little too much like a lotion (and can leave a residue on your skin, so it feels not as clean). i had to do a lot of experimenting before i found the right cleanser for me--sodium lauryl sulfate (a common ingredient in many cleansers) actually makes me break out, so i had to find a different cleanser. There is a Cetaphil for normal-to-oily skin that i've used, and i liked it better than the regular formulation--it's clear and foams a little, so it feels cleaner.

Guys thanks for your help. I was all ready to go get the cetaphil but then read on the other thread that it has sodium lauryl sulfate. I don't know for sure if it breaks me out or not but I don't want to take the chance. Does the cetaphil normal-to-oil skin dry your skin out? Oh and I live in the U.S.

The cetaphil for normal-to-oily skin dried my skin out, but i think that was because of the sodium lauryl sulfate. Not everyone is as sensitive to SLS as i am, many people use cleansers with SLS and have no problems. What clued me into the possibility of SLS being a culprit was this: my acne was mainly on my forehead, it was a rash-like acne (no large cysts, but many many small red inflamed pores/comedones which crusted over and didn't clear with BP or SA) along my temples and hairline. I read about SLS and shampoos, and the fact that it was used in labs to irritate skin on purpose (to test anti-inflammatory drugs/skin treatments).