Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
SamD

Too much BP?

Hello, I'm Sam, and I'm new to these parts. This is my first post.

Let me tell you my problem and then I'll give you a little background on my situation.

I started using the CSR three days ago. The first day was great, no problems. The second day was fine as well. It was during the night between day two and day three that the itching and irritation started. It was so bad that I couldn't sleep and was rolling around in agony.

I finally went in and rinsed and cleansed my face. It felt so good. I did not put anything else on after cleansing. Four hours later, my face still has a burning sensation and it still itches a bit but nothing like before. My face feels tight and it feels like I have a bad sunburn.

I understand that the itching is normal when just starting. But this is just nuts. I think I may have started out using too much BP. I began the system using a full finger twice a day.

I've used BP in the past and I'm sure I’m not allergic. I think I messed up by not starting small. I will start again using much smaller portions.

In the meantime, is there anything I can use or do about the burning and itching? Also, should I wait awhile before I start using the BP again?

-------

Here is what I am using:

Cleanser: Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser

BP: Neutrogena On-the-Spot

Moisture: Cetaphil Moisturizing Lotion

-------

Here is my back-story:

I am a 39-year-old male, who has suffered from acne since age 13. I still suffer from consistent outbreaks.

I've never tried to control it since my teens.

Recently I decided to try to do something about it. I did some research and decided that I would start out using the ProActiv system. Most of the reviews said that it works in the beginning, but then after some time everything goes wrong. I decided to use it, and then quickly abandon it when the first signs of trouble appear.