Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
rockystar

blush recommendations?

Those of you that wear blusher, which ones are safe for acne prone skin? oil free/ non comedogenic?

i've never worn blush before so am very hesitant about wearing it incase it breaks me out..or makes me look like a clown :shifty: lol but my foundation makes my face look so flat and dead that im starting to feel like i need something to make me look alive again lol

any recommendations?

also which kind of shade do u think someone with asian (indian) skin tones should use without looking too made up?

I love Bobbi Brown's blush (the powder one). It's expensive, $20, but the quality is excellent. Blush lasts forever too and you only need one. I've been using the same blush everyday for two years and I'm not even down to the metal yet. I've never broken out from blush, fyi.

You will need to try on blush before you buy it. Most blushes don't look the same on your skin as they do in the container. Many department store makeup counters have free samples, that's the best way to sample a product for a long enough time to see if it makes you break out or not.

IMO, blush is best when it gives a hint of color and isn't obvious. If your skin is more caramel-toned (yellow), I'd suggest you go with a rose-tawny shade. If you're closer to light milk-chocolate (pink), I'd suggest a plum-spice shade. Basically, you want a blush that is a rich tan with either a hint of rose (cool medium pink) or plum (warm dark pink), depending on your tone.

To apply, you'll want to use a round fluffy brush that is about 1-1.5" across. Dab it gently twice onto the blush, tap the mid-portion of the handle on your forearm to shake off the excess. The bristles should have only the slightest bit of color to them. Smile, make one light sweep from apple to hairline and then starting at the apple of your cheek do a few strokes angled downward towards the corner of your jaw to blend.