Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
sublikw1d

Yet another life story and accutane post

Hi, I’m new here. I have been browsing the forums for a few months though but never really had a reason to post anything. Anyway, I just decided that it was time to see a derm because my acne was getting the best of me and i was sick of it.

I have had acne for 3 years, and have enjoyed every minute of it :^o ok not really, but it had never been really bad till this school year. I just started getting massive breakouts around the beginning of this school year that I can only contribute (right word?) to stress from my senior year.

At the end of august (around the time the breakouts started) I decided to try Dans regimen but it failed miserably so I decided to get a refill on my minocyclin to see if that would work. It worked, but only to a point. I also started to use my retin-A again because it kind of helped in the past, same story it only helped to a point. Then finally two months after all this crap started hitting the fan I noticed that my face was horrible. I had red dots everywhere and large red blotches on the left side of my face with a few on my right.

That brings us to a little over a week ago. I finally made the appointment with a dermatologist and went in there. Right away he said accutane, I was a little scared because of all the horror stories I heard about it so I said I would think about it then. Then that weekend (this last one) I was looking at some pictures of me from sophomore and Junior year and I just said screw it, it’s gone too far. I called him Monday and made another appointment to come in and sign papers. That was today, I went in signed my life away wink.gif and got the scrip.

The only thing I was worried about was the price. Well I dropped off the prescription paper and came back to pay for it, and lucky me it was only….. Get ready for this….. $8. Yes that’s not a typo, $8 for a months worth.