Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
starrybabe21

Best BCP...

Ive decided to get the courage together (ano its sounds stoooopid but im highly embarrassed and shy) to go to the doctor and get BCP's sorted out. I have many of the symptoms for PCOS (apart from being overweight, but thin pcos sufferers are also common). I blame them darn excess androgens :evil:

I have NO experience watsoever and no clue deciding what pill to go on, and am a bit worried to leave it to the doctor in case they push something that will make acne worse :rolleyes:

If possible and not too much trouble could you please....

1 Recommend a brand.....

2 Rate /10 how well it went for you.....

3 Side effects you experience/d.....(whether good or bad)

4 Whether it cleared your acne/made it worse....

5 How long you were on it for/How long for results...

6 Whether its suitable for longterm use or you have to come off it, or when you switched pills did you experience a worsening of your acne?

7 ...and finally...if you stopped it did acne come back??

Tanks sooo much guys :wub: xxxxxx

Sorry if in wrong forum :confused:

Hi Starry,

I'll try to give you some input.

1. Diane-35 (it's called that in Canada, the name might be a variation of that in the U.S.)

2. Rating: 7/10

3. Headaches for the first few days when I first started. No other side effects. This BCP may have a higher incidence of stroke than other kinds though. Check with your doctor. Shorter and lighter periods (3-4 days)

4. It made the oil decrease by a lot. Acne got better, sometimes to the point where I was happy with the state of my skin, so after being on it for about 2 years, I decided that I would try to go without and it all came back full force in about 2-3 weeks. Oil production came back too, worse than I ever remember it being. So I went back on. Same results as first time, maybe a little worse though.