Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
jackthebear

spare retin-a anyone?

After reading all the success stories of people using retin-A for scars, I was wondering if anyone might have any spare tubes available? I no longer have insurance for prescriptions like I had when I was a student, and without insurance it's terribly expensive. If anyone does have insurance and would be willing, I'd gladly remunerate you for whatever you paid for it as well as the shipping charges.

P.S. I had used retin-a for awhile, but it was for acne and not scars. It was quite irritating to me and actually caused more breakouts well past what medicine states is normal breakout due to expunging of sebum and bacteria. To be honest, I think retin-a is at least partly responsible for some of the scars I have now. However, I would like to try applying the retin-a directly and only on the scars to see if it might have an effect.

Jack - I can send you a tube of Isotrex gel (same as retin-a/NOT retin-a micro) it's 0.5% - It's a new tube and use by date is at least another year. I got it for free, you can have it for free.

PM me with your address if you want it.

Just a note of caution. I started using a tube of my daughter's retin-a, a very mild version--which caused horrible break-outs leading to most of my scarring. I don't think I would have any acne scarring (except for one scar caused by fingernail marks) if I had not starting using retin-A without a doctor's consent.

This is only my opinion, but I think retin-a really needs to be used under a doc's supervision.

I read on here somewhere that Maya read that retin-a could do more harm than good in certain skin types. I think I am this skin type.

Even though I break out with large cysts, I rarely have more than two at once. After about three weeks of using retin-A, I had four or five very large cysts on my face at once--all of which caused scarring. Retin-A thins the skin making scarring a bigger possiblity.