Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

hey, I'm totally new to his but just felt like i could do with a bit of support, so here goes :)

Okay, firstly naturally I'm probably and always have been one of the most shy and timid people you're likely to meet. I'd never really had a big problem with acne till I came to uni, at first it was pretty mild and a short roacc. course sorted it out. One other the other things for you to know, I can be really quite vain, and although i'd never judge others on the basis of looks - i do it to myself all the time.

Anyways, in december, when under copious amounts of stress m acne broke out big time! Over night i changed, I took a year's leave of absence from uni, started on roacc. again and went to see a psychiatrist/ therapist because i became so messed up! Anyhows, after the most difficult 7/8 months of my life during which i refused to go anywhere.etc my acne completely cleared and i'm now staying on it very low-dose to ensure it doesn't happen again!

Now, my skin's clear but i still have some scarring. Although probably only mild and some types of light you can't really see anything, in certain shops (eg. whilst being dragged about new look) , although this may be over-exaggerated by my mind it can look pretty awful and make me really self-conscious.

Anyways, the thought of people noticing it makes me really anxious which has resulted in me getting really nervous when meeting new people or in big crowds, and i start shaking and sweating, hence i now try to avoid crowds and cities all together.

I think it's to do with an identity crisis - sometimes i look in the mirror and am the hottest think alive, and others, i ming lol. I know it could be a lot worse, but i guess there's other issues involved as well...

At the same time as dealing with this I've been trying to come to terms with being gay. The two combined make me feel as though i'm constantly being judged by everyone.