Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
SufferinginSD

Losing job opportunities because of acne?

I've been looking for a job for almost two months now with no success and my "acne paranoia" is starting to creep in and make me wonder. :think: I've gotten about three interviews with different companys, but none have translated into job offers. For one position, I even made it to the second round of interviews, but still wasn't made an offer :( . Now I know my interview skills are strong because I actually participated in a couple of "practice" interviews with a career counselor before I graduated college. She told me I seemed confident and was able to articulate my points very well. So then, why am I not getting any offers? :eh:

I can't help but think my acne and scars are what's holding me back. Two of the positions involved working in a research laboratory which usually requires the candidate to have a "neat, clean appearance." :rolleyes: So this makes me wonder if the acne and scarring on my face gives me a "dirty appearance" and automatically puts me at a disadvantage for getting the job. I mean if another applicant just as qualified as me walks into an interview with clear glowing skin, they're probably the one who'd get the offer over someone "unclean" like me. Am I just being incredibly paranoid or has anyone else come out of an interview feeling like you totally aced it only to find out you got rejected :wall:

This has happened to me three times now and I can't help but get discouraged :cry: Sorry for the long post I just needed to vent and what better place to do it than acne.org..the only place where I don't feel like a total freak :wacko:

I think there is a lot of prejudice there, when it comes to selecting people for jobs, and they judge alot more than your skills, and unfortnatley they judge appearance,