Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
K_OS

Athletes and Acne

I am new to this site but I have been using the product for almost two months now and things seem to be going ok. Here is what my typical day looks like:

Morning and Night - Cleanser while in shower, BP (off the site), moisturizer.

My issue is that I am a University athlete and I have training or practise everyday. What I have been doing after training is washing my face with something called neutrogena cream cleanser. I've been using that because it seems to be pretty mild and I don't want to avoid washing my face after workouts. I thought I read somewhere that I should not be washing my face this way but it feels like I should be cleaning my skin at these times. Feedback?

Furthermore, I guess I would call my acne mild, but what is extremely extremely bothering to me is that I usually go a couple weeks with skin that is near perfect and I feel like there is hope but then I will get one or two LARGE pimples on my forehead or nose. I do not know what the proper name for these pimples are but I call them 'underground' pimples and they are not easily popped. Once I tried to pop one of them and my entire forehead swelled up and I could not even express my anger and frustration! But here's the thing, sometimes I think I get these large pimples on the side of my nose because I use my shirt or jersey to wipe sweat off my face at practise because I thought it was best for my skin but I am now thinking it is not. Sometimes I also take a wet cloth or towel and just dap my skin after sweating, this seems to work better.

Anyways, I apologize for the length of this, but I would appreciate any feedback on my situation or just any comment from people who are in a similar situation.

Thank you

yeah the lady who works at 24 hour fitness has always got nasty zits. theres probably some athetics-acne connections.