Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

If Accutane doesn't work, when Accutane works you mean.

Trust me, accutane will work.

What day of it are you on?

I'm a total newbie/day 10.

I just don't like the way my skin feels so, I don't know, angry :evil: It's not breaking out per se. It feels like it's going to slide off; like it's floating on a layer of liquid just waiting to slide off. Out of desperation I put on BP 10% and it feels soooooooo much better, tight again. I know I shouldn't use the BP but the other option is ditching the 'tane.

I just think that hormones are such crazy things that it's hard for me to believe that 'tane will work. It doesn't address the root after all [hormones] as far as I'm aware. I think 'tane works better for males than females. Males are simple creatures in terms of hormones. <wink> I probably should have started this journey with an endo rather than a derm now that I think about it. :idea:

Oh well, for today - with the 10% I'm hanging in there.

Yeah, if my acne comes back, I'll definitely push for the spiro. So far, it's ok, but I've always felt mine was hormonal, and like you said accutane doesn't actually deal w/the hormonal aspect of acne. I tried to tell that to my doc, but she was adamant that I go the 'tane route first. Whatever!

Neither. It's an antiandrogen that blocks male hormones. For some women, it seriously helps to get rid of hormonal acne.

Well, it can diminish your sex drive, AND it's not a cure. If it works for you, you have to take it indefinitely. Sucks, but there you are.

I think derms can prescribe it, although I'd think a gyno could, too. Not too sure about that one.

Yeah, if my acne comes back, I'll definitely push for the spiro. So far, it's ok, but I've always felt mine was hormonal, and like you said accutane doesn't actually deal w/the hormonal aspect of acne. I tried to tell that to my doc, but she was adamant that I go the 'tane route first. Whatever!