Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
kiwi-rabbit

First Hospital Appointment. Will I be given TANE straight away?

HELLO. I'M A UK RESIDENT. and i have an appointment booked to see a Dermatologist at my local hospital on the NHS on Tue 5th September(first appointment iv had so far)(and my GP said they prob giv me TANE). I've been getting all trigger happy because I think I may possibly be a "normal person with a normal life" by Christmas or New Year. But then it suddenly struck me that I had no idea as to whether I'm going to be pescribed the Roaccutane straight away. Maybe I'll need to book another appointment? Maybe they'll delay it for a while, while they decide and ponder as to whether I need it or not, or just piss around as doctors, hospitals and generally the NHS does. So could you all tell me whether you got your TANE at your first Dermalogist appointment and/or how soon afterwards you were actually able to get your hands on the actual pills? (and it will be extra helpful if your going through the English NHS like me :) )

thank you, all posts will be much appreciated, elle

I don't know how it works in the UK, but here in the US, most dermatologists will not prescribe it straight off the bat. Usually you have to try topical retinoids, topical antibiotics and oral antibiotics and have them all not work before Accutane is considered. But there is that 1 in 100 doctor who will prescribe it right away. It also depends on the severity of your acne. Go in with cysts on 90% of your face and you'll get it easily.

i think they do tests and you gotta wait 3 months for results and wait another 3 months for them to do anotehr test on the lvier etc to make sure it will be ok with you