Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Adam122234

Advice from experianced derm visitors...

Well it's my first time going, since my acne is more or less mild. Pimple wise i hardly have any, but it takes TONS of up keep to maintain the acceptable look. Besides being swarmed with always having to use BP among other things i can't handle it...i'm starting to get a little red, and then i lay off the BP and then the little bastards come back...i got the situation under control, but when i'm gone in the day for long periods of time and i can't manage BP, my face sorta slips...so to lessen my use of BP and actually have a life without worrying about what my face will turn into , i've decided to finally bug my mom to death and take me to a derm.

Now to put myself in a nut shell i without a doubt need BP, without it = bad news. Using it all the time doesn't give me the crystal clear skin because you can see a little redness etc....and i also wanna drop down to using BP once a day, school and a job occupy the rest of the day and i can't manage BP usage at either places.

What should i ask my derm for? I seriously don't wanna play lab rat because my face isn't bad, so it doesn't make sense for me to get worse when my face is close to clear. I would like some kind of Oral pill for obvious reasons, i can take it anywhere and it'll help...i'd also like to request a good topical if any are better than BP, thing is i don't know if any prescription topicals are better than BP or not.

So what would you suggest i get? Oral pill wise and topical wise...i know my derm will tell me, but i should atleast ask her if she can give me something...i'm just wondering what the public thinks of certain pills/topicals ...i read some of the feedback on the prescription pills, but it didn't quiet answer any questions for me..

I don't need Accutane, but i need something that works really good. thanks if you can give me any insight.