Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

My skin looks like shit. I've got a handful of cysts and nodules and some cute little pustules. I have a couple thousand whitheads, and my face is red, blotchy and swollen. Plus it's covered in oil.

And I have no makeup on!!!!!

For those of you who don't know I'm a cosmetic chemist, and I make makeup for a living. The marketing girls are here from NYC to evaluate some crap I made.

I've been warned by my boss before about acne not being "professional," and that I should put more effort into my appearence. But today I went to wash my face and it hurt so much I got sick to my stomach, so I went without the makeup.

So my boss gave me the look of death before, because a marketing girl looked at me funny. She hasn't said anything yet, but she will. It's not like I don't look "professional." My hair is clean, and I do take showes and brush my teeth. I have a cute outfit under my labcoat, so it's not like I look like a slob....I just have acne....severe acne.........and no makeup on.....

The main reason I didn't wear it was because it hurt's to put on, and if I have to remove it to try something on (maketing sometimes uses us as lab rats for evaluating shades, finish, coverage etc) it will hurt to take off and put on, and I may actually puke (not feeling well to begin with because of antiboitics I'm taking).....if I have to touch my face.....

So I will not be putting makeup on.......Fuck her.......

Ooo... suck. Yeah, I know how that is. Well, I don't work with makeup but when you have to give a presentation or meet people who are important, and you skip the cover-up, it really does affect your "professionalism." Whether they want to or not, people make judgements based on appearance.

My mom used to work in the cosmetic industry formulating shampoo (for Redken), she would always go to the makeup formulators to get her face done :) Maybe you can get a coworker to help you do it really gently?