Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
naivesilly

But... but... it still sucks!?

My skin's clear now, no scars or redness. I occasionally have off days, but on the whole I'd guess I look dermatologically (and I hate this word) normal. A few months ago, I thought I'd be dancing on the ceiling if I got to this stage. I thought my life would just improve instantaneously. But I've just found myself bored, unenthusiastic about pretty much everything, unsatisfied with my life and vainer than ever. I've become one of those people who is miserable for no apparent reason. I just don't get it. I can't even work out why I'm still so... I don't know, not sad as such, just empty. I went through a really rough patch last Christmas with the breakup of a really significant relationship... but that was ages ago. Surely I should be getting over it by now.

I'm going to University in September, pretty far from home (Yorkshire, UK) and I'm a little apprehensive. I'm studying equine dentistry, which I know I'll love, but I just don't feel that excited. I don't really feel anything. It's like my soul's kind of... disappeared?

Just musing. Anyway, cheers for listening xx

This is all my personal opinion and is not directed toward you

Everyone has a problems and a "bane" of their existence, something they obsess over and are convinced is the source of their misery. EVERYONE has got something like this, it's not just people with acne. But we go on believing that if this one problem went away, everything would be smooth sailing. It's not true, the happiness you feel will be superficial and will only last for a certain amount of time before a feeling of emptiness sets in or, worse yet, you start finding something else to worry about to fill that gap. That's why I say it's very important to work on the total package during the time you have acne, and not get into this mode of thinking that nothing can be better until your face clears up.