Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
mrsdarcy

Takin' care of business...

Well, I'm a newbie. I came across Dan's site about a month ago when I decided it was time to make a real attempt at clearing up my acne. I've tried most products that are not prescription (as I have not yet concluded that my acne is bad enough to warrant a dermatologist's attention). I'd say that my acne is mildish-it is mostly whiteheads, pustules and (very rarely) cysts, but it is bothersome and embarassing. I don't like anyone getting very close to my face because I don't like my skin. It's been about four years since I really started getting acne, especially during "that time of the month".

My problem areas are my cheeks (near the noseand below the eyes), my chin and my forehead. My forehead, however, is mostly just many, many skin-colored bumps that never seem to go away completely. I also have had a BIG problem with picking at my face. I have pretty extensive scarring on my chin and cheeks from picking for so long. So a few days ago I decided that I was going to give CSR a try, STOP PICKING and kick my acne to the curb.

I've used the following products at different times and found them to work well with my skin. Here's my game-plan:

Morning:

Cetaphil gentle skin cleanser

Aveeno positively radiant with daily moisturizer with SPF 15 (I first tried Cetaphil's moisturizing lotion but found it to be too greasy)

Mid-afternoon:

Clean&Clear oil absorbing sheets to minimize oil build-up, especially since it is summertime

Night:

Cetaphil gentle skin cleanser

Proactiv lotion 2.5 % BP (I ordered the CSR BP a few weeks ago but something seems to have gone wrong in the shipping process so I'm trying to work that out)

I am using an Aveeno daily scrub for exfoliation but only every other day/third day (by the way, I don't remember which scrub it is but it is very gentle!)

Throughout the day: