Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Dave19

Long Long course of Roacuttane?? normal??

Hi all

Im new to this post and a little uncure how to go about it so ill just share my little story. Im on my second course of roacuttane and have just completed my 18th week. I had Cystic acne which is as stubborn as hell and although there are imporovements, im still flarring and getting new lumps on my neck, which was never the case before the accutane. Although the first 8 weeks i was on homeopathic doses of less than 10 a day, i have been on 30mg for amonth now and 20mg for a month before that.. My doc is a little surprised and suggests that occasionally the process takes a V long time for some people. My main purpose of this message is to ask if anyone has been on, or knows anyone who had the same slow process, of low doses and grumbling flare. how long are we talking and what was your experience. Thanks alot.

Cya

Your dose is definately too low if it is taking so long to clear up. I had minor to moderate acne and went on tane for 5 months at 40mg to start and upped to 60 after a month or two and then a month later went to 80 for the remaining 3 or so months. I never had a breakout on accutane and it cleared me up completely. I also weigh 140 lbs or a bit less most of the time.

I think your derm is being too cautious. That is more like a maintainance dose than one that is mean to knock out acne.

It has been awhile since I was on accutane, but I remmeber my dosage was up every 2 weeks or so after successive bloodtest.

Taking 18 weeks to go from 10mg to 30 just doesn't make sense to me...

You mentioned that this is your second course, was the first course the same? If so, I dunno, I would personally go to a different derm for 2nd opinion unless your derm is seeing soemthing from the tests. Talk to your derm and try to get him/her to address your concern.

Hey thanks heaps, i really appreciate it..