Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Isabelle

Spirolactane?

Hi, I am new to the site. It seems like a great source of information w/ people worldwide, which is cool. So my question is, Anyone on Spirolactane for Acne? My dermo just put me on 50mgs of Spirolactane. I am 32 this month and kept getting cystic (underground) acne, that pops up consistently, mostly on the chin. It was making me Crazy!! My periods are regular so I haven't been diagnosed with PCOD(?) The dermo thought my break-outs were hormonal so he has me on Spiro. However, I am not currently sexually active so don't want to go on the pill with it. (They want you to go on the pill while taking Spirolactane becuz apparently your periods can become irregular, and it can cause birth defects). Anyone been on Spiro without being on the pill? What were the side-effects? I just feel bloated, which is wierd considering Spiro is a diuretic. (can anyone tell I am a nursing student? Geezz. Now you know why I am not currently sexually active) :)

I am. I just started taking 100 mg on May 9th, although I didn't take it every day. I do not take bc pills. My period was 2 days late, which made me slightly concerned (I'm married with kids but do not plan to/wish to have any more children) but I stopped the Spirolactone and got my period.

I was pleasantly surprised NOT to bloat! I was also put on the Spiro bc I suddenly broke out with godawful cystic acne, which scarred, which is why I'm here. I only had ONE teeny zit this cycle, NO new zits last cycle. So I'm happy.

I read isomewhere that some derms only want you to take the Spiro from cycle days 5 to 21. I'm trying that now.

Good luck!

Titania, Thank you so much for the reply :) It is hopeful to hear that you had good results. I too got the scarring from the horrible cystic acne. I am hoping it fades!! I will mention taking the spiro from day 5-21 to the dermo. I don't like to be late either!

Hello.